I Live In A Madhouse-How the Madhouse Began.

Our Wedding

Greetings, Today is our anniversary, and I started thinking, perhaps some of you who have been reading my blogs wonder how our Madhouse began. So, Once upon a time….The good Lord above was definitely the matchmaker for this union. My hubby and I were, are, and always will be total opposites, but today on our 35 anniversary, I am proud to say we have made it work. He was raised one of ten children, I was an only child. He was born and raised in Haiti. I was born in Manhattan, and raised in Queens. He was and is thin. I was and am fat. He speaks French, I speak only English. He was catholic. I was protestant. He majored in math. I majored in music. He was  an extrovert, I was an introvert. The list goes on and on. It is a wonder we even spoke to each other.We met at work, both faceless people you pass in the hallway of any crowded New York City middle school. Ah, but one day one faceless body, spoke to the other faceless body. Now my faceless body was usually friendly to all who passed it, and usually had a “hello” to say back. However in this instance, the other faceless body had an accent that was difficult to understand, so I smiled, nodded my head, and walked away. This happened a few times, and each time my response was the same. Then one day he said he would walk me to my classroom. Trying to discourage him, I told him I was going to the fourth floor. (Nobody likes a walk up four flights of stairs if they don’t have to do it.) The joke was on  me, his classroom was on the fourth floor. From that point on, I decided it was best to be truthful. At our next encounter I sat down and listened. I mean really listened to what is had to say past hello. I found that if I really listened, my American ears got past his accent and I could understand most of what he was saying. That as they say, was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

At the end of the school year, his visa expired and he returned to Haiti. Thus started the second phase of our relationship. I ran up three hundred-dollar phone bills, and spent Christmas in Haiti. The weather was beautiful, the stars were shinning, and all was well. The following summer I returned with my parents and we were married. I spent the next year vacationing in Haiti, and looking at apartments and houses. I found a quaint little house in Queens and by the next summer my husband joined me once again. Our family grew.  In the space of four years, I went from being a single woman, to a married woman, to the mother of  two.  A boy of five and a baby girl. Thus the Mad House Began.

The Family

Over the next thirty-five years, hubby finished grad school, children grew up, I matured, parents passed away and life moved on. We traded our quaint little house in Queens for a larger family house in Nassau county. My son has contributed two grand children to the family, so the Mad House will continue. And it all started with a little boy who ran barefoot and played soccer  in Haiti and a little girl who sold girl scout cookies, and took piano lessons with a teacher around the corner. They grew up over two thousand miles apart, in two  different cultures  without even a common language to bring them together. And as most stories end they continue to live happily ever after.  Now if that was not the hand of God, I don’t know what is.

~ by scribe312 on July 8, 2012.

21 Responses to “I Live In A Madhouse-How the Madhouse Began.”

  1. I was a math major; my wife a music major. We stay together because we wouldn’t want anything else. Isn’t that, truly, the way it is with you?

  2. As usual, I enjoyed your writing. The “fourth floor” part was pretty funny. It must have been pretty crazy adjusting to married life with such different backgrounds. Especially the fact that he was one of ten children and you were an only child! I have found that the way we were raised has been one of the more challenging issues in my marriage especially when it comes to raising our children. Did you feel that?

  3. I’ve heard the “short” version of how you and Lys got together, but it was really nice reading the full story. Isn’t it funny how opposites attract? Only, in your case, I think that deep down inside of both of you…in the recesses of your hearts, there is a hidden link that is identical.

  4. Thank you for reading my blog, and I think you may be right about us.

  5. Hi Nicole, Thank you for your visit, and I am so glad you enjoyed it. I have found our views on raising children were quite different at times. We both spank, but sometimes he took it to another level, and I think I had more patience with the children than he did.

  6. Wonderful…wonderful. Write on.

  7. I never knew the story of how you met Lys. Lovely familly antidote. It made me smile to read it. Happy 35th wedding anniversary.

  8. Happy 35th Anniversary, May God allow you to see many more happy and blessed years!!!

  9. Hello, I can be found on Twitter, in case you would like to follow me.

  10. Thank you for your kind words. God Bless.

  11. Happy Anniversary! I love the family collage as well.

  12. Thank you Avril, and thank you for visiting my blog.

  13. nice post.http://www.iguinhojogos.net

  14. “Never doubt in the dark what God told you in the light.” – V. Raymond Edman

  15. Throughout the grand pattern of things you’ll secure an A+ with regard to hard work. Where you actually misplaced me ended up being on the particulars. You know, they say, the devil is in the details… And that could not be more true right here. Having said that, allow me say to you what did deliver the results. The article (parts of it) is incredibly persuasive and this is most likely the reason why I am taking the effort to comment. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Next, while I can certainly see the jumps in reasoning you make, I am not really sure of just how you appear to unite the ideas that make the final result. For the moment I will, no doubt subscribe to your point but trust in the future you connect your dots much better.

  16. squidoo lens are excellent for setting up your write-up on the internet, i use squidoo and also hubpages *

  17. Great lens !!! Its these stories that keep me motivated and building new lens’s.
    Thanks,
    SD

  18. Pretty neat article, I learned a few things I didn’t realize. I just come about across this web site; it’s pretty neat. I am heading to really need to study some of your respective other posts.

  19. It was difficult to choose, most of them I could see my husband wearing. Good job!

  20. That’s a beautiful story. 🙂

  21. Thank you Catherine, I enjoy your writing also. Thank you for visiting my blog. Have a blessed evening.

Comments are closed.

 
