I Live in a Mad House-OMG, it’s a ….

New cell phone owner and family.

We have all had those moments when someone surprised us with something that was absolutely the best thing we ever thought we could get. Reaction was anything from dropping to our knees and thanking God and the benefactor, to an uncontrolled explicative that you didn’t mean for your mom to hear.
My OMG moment came at the age of 20. I had gone to europe with my college choir, and upon my return my mom met me at the airport. As we walked through the parking lot, I could not located her reliable old green Ford and my bags were getting heavy. She suddenly stopped behind a little gold car and said “here it is!” My eyes nearly popped out of my head, and I had to cover my mouth so she wouldn’t hit me in it, as I gazed upon a brand new Plymouth Gold Duster. My first car. I screamed, I cried, and hugged her all at once. It was truly a moment I will never forget.
I was reminded of that moment yesterday, when my son presented my eleven year old grand-daughter with her first cell phone. She was sitting in the back seat of my car, and needless to say, I was glad we were not riding in a convertible. I do believe she would have jumped right out of the car. This was definitely her OMG moment, one that she will remember the rest of her life. As we traveled down the hot streets of Brooklyn, she regaled us with: “OMG, it has a stylus just what I wanted, OMG it has a touch screen”, and “OMG it’s an Android, ” not to mention that she mentioned about one hundred, eleven year olds, that she would be adding to her phonebook. I smiled to see her so happy, but before we parted for the day, I reminded her of a saying I originated when her dad and aunt were small. ” Good girls/boys get everything, and bad girls/boys get nothing” Of course there were qualifications to that statement, I explained that if they wanted a pony, or a car at ten years old these things were not going to happen. However as long as they did what was expected, their best in school, and tried not to be monsters at home, their dad and I would do everything in our power to make their lives happy. I remember it took awhile for this to sink in, especially with my son, but once they realized that we were serious it was a system that worked well in our house. My grand-daughter was already familiar with the saying, because my son had already passed on these words of wisdom to the next generation.
The ah-ha moments, the OMG moments, the once in a lifetime opportunities, they are what memories are made of.

When was the last time you gave someone an ah-ha, or OMG moment? These special moments benefit not only the receiver, but the giver as well. What could be better.

P.S.

A definite OMG moment. As a nation we should all be proud.

~ by scribe312 on July 27, 2012.

32 Responses to “I Live in a Mad House-OMG, it’s a ….”

  1. Wonderful writing. I am still trying to give my grandkids an OMG moment. I can’t remember my a time for my kids either. Mine was when I got a beautiful bike! As usual your writing has launched me into memory lane. I love it.

  2. Bev, thanks for reading my blog, I am so glad you liked it. You have plenty of time to give your grand that OMG moment. So good to hear from you.

  3. whoah this weblog is fantastic i really like reading your articles. Keep up the great paintings! You know, lots of persons are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly.

  4. It was so wonderful to open my WP account, and be greeted by that beautiful picture of the family. What a blessing!

  5. Hi SomerEmpress, so good to hear from you. Thank you for the visit. Have a blessed day.

  6. You are so right! I never gave too much thought to the stuff that memories are made of; and the ah-ha moments, the OMG moments, the once in a lifetime opportunities are exactly what the best memories are made of. Thank you for reminding me, Yvonne! It’s been a long time since I’ve given or received any of these”memory” stuffers. Just a thought…is it possible to create these for yourself having the same impact???

  7. Yes, I believe so. For instance, I am eagerly awaiting the first copy of my book. It should be here within the next ten days or so. I am sure when I actually hold it in my hands, the culmination of about fifteen years work, I am sure that will be an ah-ha, OMG! Moment. Think about your moment, and go for it. Too many of us leave this earth with too few special moments.

  8. OK! You located the mother load Your Golden Goose Super!

  9. I dont discover the mount probably the most appealing. What lures me into this by far the most is getting Diablo 3 for free + a being sure to have into the MoP beta. Now I’m able to finally play and try out this expansion myself, in its place of having to comply with up on Jesse Cox’s beta videos as I had to do in Cata. yaaay!!

  10. i want to say that george harrison was an exceptionally excellent man &i adore him so much he was a really excellent singer for that beatles are my favorite one particular of all

  11. Great collection of Framework.

  12. Great camera I’d personally like to have a single.

  13. Cute post it was very fun to read 🙂

  14. This is the sort of information I’ve long been in search of. Thanks for posting this information. 123824

  15. Real instructive and wonderful anatomical structure of articles , now thats user pleasant (:. 408385

  16. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for! 120868

  17. Good post. I be taught 1 thing a lot more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It will all of the time be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and apply slightly 1 thing from their store. Id desire to use some with the content material on my weblog whether you dont mind. Natually Ill give you a hyperlink on your net weblog. Thanks for sharing. 766723

  18. A blog like yours should be earning much money from adsense.~::- 252864

  19. Ive read several very good stuff here. Surely value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how considerably effort you put to create 1 of these exceptional informative internet site. 262552

  20. I simply couldnt go away your website before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard information an individual provide on your visitors? Is gonna be back frequently in order to inspect new posts. 358716

  21. Yay google is my king assisted me to find this outstanding site! . 355599

  22. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but soon after I clicked submit my comment didnt appear. Grrrr effectively Im not writing all that more than once again. Regardless, just wanted to say amazing weblog! 571387

  23. هندسة نت was excellent 718880

  24. This internet page is known as a stroll-by for all of the data you wished about this and didnt know who to ask. Glimpse appropriate here, and you will positively discover it. 593711

  25. I agree together with your points , excellent post. 32814

  26. Id constantly want to be update on new content on this website, bookmarked! 884211

  27. I adore the look of your web site. I recently built mine and I was searching for some design suggestions and you gave me a couple of. Might I ask you whether you developed the web site by youself? 259905

  28. Wow i like yur internet site. It genuinely helped me with the data i wus seeking for. Appcriciate it, will bookmark. 535785

  29. Youve really written a very good quality article here. Thank you very much 44314

  30. I see that you are using WordPress on your blog, wordpress is the best. :~- 340269

  31. I real delighted to find this site on bing, just what I was looking for : D also bookmarked . 824770

  32. If you want to get social bookmarking backlinks that will help skyrocket your website search engine ranking straight to the top, check out this site http://socialbookmarksubmission.org/

Comments are closed.

 
