I REALLY AM AN AUTHOR-The Book Signing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This past weekend I had an extraordinary  experience. I had a book signing in Philadelphia.  This was not exactly my first book signing, because the week before I had a book signing in church. However this was my first book signing in a real bookstore.

When I arrived I was greeted warmly and given a table to display my book. I sat and waited for the public to  discover me and extol me with praised for such a fine work. I waited, and I waited. It soon became evident that this was going to be a LONG afternoon.

About an hour into the process my relatives began to come. God bless them. There were hugs, congratulations, and lots of conversation. This might not be such a long afternoon after all. Then…….. my niece Tippy came.  She entered the store and immediately announced that ” This will not do. No one can see you from the hall, people are walking by and don’t know you are here!”  Unlike most people who see a problem and tisk, tisk, and do nothing about it, she took a book in her hand and proceeded to extol the virtues of my book Rag Doll Tales to everyone in hearing distance. In my mind she was the answer to a prayer. She stopped old men in their tracks, young men out for a stroll in the mall with someone special, families, children, and everyone who dared to walk down that section of the mall. Many came in the store to take a look, some even bought books, some even bought MY BOOK! At the end of four hours I was almost out of books. Add to this scene more relatives, some of whom I had not seen in many a day, and the afternoon literally flew by. Not only that, Tippy made such an impression on the store owner that he took her phone number and asked her to come and “work” all his future book signings. Now that is what I call a good day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rag Doll Tales is available at: Amazon.com. Booksamillion.com and Barnesandnoble.com. 

Rag Doll Tales is on Facebook, please stop by and click LIKE.

Good Bless and good reading.

~ by scribe312 on December 3, 2012.

15 Responses to “I REALLY AM AN AUTHOR-The Book Signing”

  1. Your story brought tears to my eyes! Thank God for your niece, Tippy! That’s so sweet! She kept you from every author’s nightmare (being unnoticed at your own book signing)! In On Writing, Stephen King mentioned how frequently people would ask him where the bathroom was and didn’t even realize he didn’t WORK at the bookstore! Of course, this was before he’d written 40+ books! And thanks to Tippy you didn’t have to go through anything like that. Congrats to you on a successful signing, and I’m thinking you might owe Tippy something really special under the Christmas tree this year!
    Best,
    TenaciousB

  2. How exciting! God has orchestrated all of this right down to your niece promoting your book. I am so happy that my sister has achieved her dream! Much love, Jean

  3. Thank you for you kind words and taking the time to read my blog. I owe Tippy a great deal, thanks to her it was wonderful. Best of luck in your writing. And a Happy Holiday.

  4. Jean, you don’t know how much it means to me to have you take the time to read my blog. Thank you so much. I wish you could be here to share some of this excitement with me.

  5. Welcome!

  6. […] I REALLY AM AN AUTHOR-The Book Signing (scribe312.wordpress.com) […]

  7. My dearest friend and colleague. Congratulations.
    What an incredible honor to know you. The book was A+. Hope you will entertain visiting us at 226 as an accomplished author.
    Love and Prayers,
    Fran

  8. I believe that is among the such a lot significant info for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However wanna remark on some common things, The website taste is ideal, the articles is truly excellent : D. Good activity, cheers
    Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth was once a entertainment account it. Glance complicated to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  9. Congratulations, Cousin Yvonne!

  10. Hi Yvonne,

    God Bless you AND Tippy!! She sounds like a smart cookie. LOL Yvonne, that is so wonderful – I am so happy for you!!

    I was in NY last week. Yvonne, I was so glad to get back to Calif it was a shame!! I love my family with all my heart but NY is bear. Only went across the street to Rochdale shopping with Mom and I took her to the bank on Jamaica Ave. Other than that we stayed home which was fine with me. I live a very different life now with no stress, hassles, etc. And NY is not a mellow place. I must be getting old!!! LOL

    You take care of yourself and keep in touch.

    Connie B.

  11. Thank you my cousin for taking the time to read my blog. love you much.

  12. We’re a congregate of volunteers and opening a new proposal in our community. Your web position open us with practical data to paintings by. You’ve performed an impressive task and our full group will almost certainly live thankful to you.

  13. i read a lot of posts today and yours is the best one i have read ever. i appreciate your attitude. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  14. hey it was a good post thanks for posting, please keep posting lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  15. nice!!! lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

Comments are closed.